Skip navigation
mojoimagery
Currently Being Moderated

Photoshop CS4 smart object template just overwrote a raw file - HELP

Jul 4, 2012 11:52 AM

So.  I've been working in Photoshop extensively for about 6 years now and I am well aware that nothing we do in Photoshop or Lightroom is supposed to overwrite a raw file.  I'm not talking about changing it to something a little lighter or darker, I'm talking about replacing a picture of one baseball player with another one - and the original? Gone. 

Here's what happened: I have a poster template that contains several layers, 7 of which are smart objects.  I change the pictures in the template by right-clicking the smart object layer and selecting "replace smart object," browsing to the new image, selecting, and here is what SHOULD happen: the target picture opens in Adobe camera raw, I make some small edits, click done or okay or something similar, and that new image has replaced the old one in the template.  What DID happen was this: I followed the procedure above and selected my target raw file, the picture that was already in the template (the one I was trying to replace with my target file) opened in Adobe camera raw.  I thought - Hey, that's wierd!  Closed the ACR dialog and tried again.  Same thing happened.  I opened lightroom and saw - to my HORROR - that the target file had been changed to the same image that was in the template.

If it clarifies: pictures of player A (who played in 2009) is in all of the smart object layers in my template.  I want to make that poster be of player B (who played in 2012) so I begin replacing all the smart objects.  When I get to the 3rd image in the poster template, Photoshop overwrites my raw file of player B with the smart object photo of Player A.  There were no photos of player A on the network drive that the picture of Player B was on.  But there's one now.  My raw file shows that it was modified about 10 minutes ago.