Skip navigation
MJKemper
Currently Being Moderated

Help! It's my first NLE

Jul 9, 2012 2:23 PM

Hello everyone

I’m building my first NLE and I was wondering if I could get some feedback, suggestions and wisdom from those with more knowledge and experience than I have.  I’m just getting started with Premiere Pro and After Effects and figured I’d start with the new CS6 release.  I have a budget of about $2K for hardware, and since NLEs get can get a lot pricier than that, I want to make sure I’m getting the best system I can afford. Here’s what it looks like so far:

CPU – Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz

Mother Board – ASUS Sabertooth Z77

RAM – COSAIR Vengeance LP 16GB (2x8GB) 240-pin DDR3 1600

GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-2678-KR GeForce GTX 670 FTW 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16

PSU – SeaSonic X750 Gold

Cooling – Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus

Storage – 1 x SSD (suggestions or should I go with another HDD)

2 x WD Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200RPM 6.0Gb/s 3.5”

Optical Drive - Pioneer Black Internal BD/DVD/CD Writer SATA BDR-207DBKS

Did I forget anything?  I have a case picked out that should work. I’m really not sure about the GPU. Will it work for CUDA acceleration in Premiere Pro, or must I use one of the cards listed on the Adobe site?  I’ve read many discussions on this matter, but there really hasn’t been a straight answer. 

Oh, and suggestions on monitors for around $400 would be appreciated too.

Thanks for your time.

Michael

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 9, 2012 11:37 AM   in reply to MJKemper

use the nVidia Hack http://forums.adobe.com/thread/629557 - which is a simple entry in a "supported cards" file

I like my 27" Samsung p2770 monitor

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 9, 2012 11:46 PM   in reply to MJKemper