Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Is it possible to import a .idea file into Illustrator CS3?

Jul 14, 2012 4:54 PM

Tags: #app #cs3 #ipad #layers #layer_saver #adobe_idea #vector_file

I have sketches and files on Adobe Idea on the iPad. How to I bring them into Illustrator and preserve the layers, etc? .png, .pdf and .jpg don't seem to do this. I'm sorry if this is a "no duh" question, but I am just starting out with these programs and would appreciate the help. The question didn't turn up in a forum search.

Thank you in advance!

~Anna

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 14, 2012 5:20 PM   in reply to Lotusii

I don't know the .idea format but if it's a pixel format you might do better with Photoshop.

Just guessing though.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 14, 2012 10:03 PM   in reply to Lotusii

You are being very vague but specific about what you need.

Why not just tell us what the application is called and what formats it supports?

The more you tell us the more there is a possibility that we can assist you.

Does the prgram set text and if so does it support open fonts, are the fonts psotscript or true fonts?

Does the program support bezier curves?  Does it have pen tool can you copy and paste a bezier path?

And so on…

Layers and all that is fine but what is the nature of the out put can the program output for instance to eps?

Wmf? Emf? How abuo to a CAD file?

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 14, 2012 10:05 PM   in reply to Wade_Zimmerman

Oh I see it is actually called Adobe Ideas? That's the name of the Aplication.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 14, 2012 10:13 PM   in reply to Wade_Zimmerman

Simple read the info about the app and it states pretty clearly that you sync to the Adobe Cloud to be able to sealessly refine it further in Illustrator.

Screen Shot 2012-07-15 at 1.07.36 AM.png

I did not see whee it mentions exporting to any file type that is vector based other than this method.