• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

pass variables between classes

New Here ,
Jul 17, 2012 Jul 17, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! I'm new to flash actionscript and i'm making a small game right now.I was thinking about creating seperate movieclips for each game level and assign seperate classes to them so it's more clean and easy to code.

eg:-

level1-level1.as

level2-level2.as

level3-level3.as

My problem is how do pass variables(like health,score,etc)to the next level?

plz help i'm stuck on this and i searched a lot but couldnt get the right answer..

oh,and i'm using flash cs3 with actionscript 3.0

TOPICS
ActionScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Deleted User
Jul 18, 2012 Jul 18, 2012

I don't think you truly understand what movieclips and classes are.

MovieClips are display objects; your character, the enemy, items, platforms < these will be movieclips

Classes can be used to define new elements or extend existing ones such as an Object or a MovieClip.

For the purposes of making a game, I would separate the levels by frames.

make level 1 on a frame labeled "level 1"

and level 2 on a frame labeled "level 2"

variables will carry from frame to frame.

use gotoAndStop(frame_label) to swit

Votes

Translate

Translate
Enthusiast ,
Jul 17, 2012 Jul 17, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

in your class you need define public vars

public var variable:Number;

Youn need a main Class to import  all the another class in this

then you can call the variables

ClassName.variable

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied