Skip navigation
evlogimenos
Currently Being Moderated

LrXML xsl transform cannot match document node on windows

Jul 22, 2012 11:05 AM

On windows the xsl library used has a bug which is preventing it from matching the document node (the parent of the root element of the document).

I reduced this to a test case:

xml data:

<first>

<second />

</first>

xsl stylesheet:

<xsl:stylesheet version='1.0' xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform">

<xsl:output method='text'/>

<xsl:template match='/'>ROOT<xsl:apply-templates/></xsl:template>

<xsl:template match='first'>FIRST<xsl:apply-templates/></xsl:template>

<xsl:template match='second'>SECOND<xsl:apply-templates/></xsl:template>

</xsl:stylesheet>

The output should be ROOTFIRSTSECOND and this is the observed output if this stylesheet is processed by msxsl or xsltproc. The problem is, when this is processed by LrXML on windows the output is FIRSTSECOND.

Granted I am not an xsl expert but to the best of my knowledge this looks like a bug. Any chance this can be fixed?

Cheers.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 22, 2012 6:23 PM   in reply to evlogimenos

Hi,

I haven't messed around with XSLT in a little while so can't verify whether your match criteria for the root node is the correct way to select that node. I'm sure there will be an alternate way to select it so you can probably work around this issue.

My understanding is that Lightroom uses MsXML on Windows to perform the transformation. This raises a few challenges for anyone using XSLT functionality. Particularly that the MsXML version available might differ from machine to machine and between Lightroom versions. It also means that some other engine is being used on Mac so testing on both platforms is highly recommended.