• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Images from Ilustrator blurry when saved as PDF

New Here ,
Jul 24, 2012 Jul 24, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to FrameMaker and am having trouble with graphics that originated in Ilustrator. When I save the FM file as a PDF, the majority of my Illustrator graphics have artifacts around the edges of them. This doesn't happen to all of them ... some are ok.

I have tried using the following file types: PNG, AI and EPS.

Based on what I read in another discussion here, I have also tried changing my Adobe PDF settings. I have tried using Press Quality as a Default setting. I have also turned off all downsampling of images.

In Acrobat, I have tried turning off smoothing. This helps, but doesn't clear up all the graphics.

Also, I am using FrameMaker 8.

TOPICS
PDF output

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

> ... graphics that originated in Ilustrator.

Vector or raster images (or mixed)?

Vector graphics (.eps suggested for FM8) should get passed through unmodified.

Georg's response (above) appears to have been intended for the FM11 discussion.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

They originated as vector images. EPS does give me the best result, but it's hardly acceptable. When I export the vector images to PNG (making them raster, correct?), I get a worse result.

One thing I should note: The graphics are relatively small. They are number icons I created to use to label screen captures - each one is approximately 13 pt. x 13 pt.