Skip navigation
stynkrbelle
Currently Being Moderated

Do I really need tesla/maximus for editing on CS6

Jul 27, 2012 10:44 AM

Tags: #hardware #video #cuda #premiere_pro

My graphics card Quadro 4000 just "bit-the-dust" so I need to replace it. My pc has 24 GB RAM, all programs operate on a 256 GB solid state drive, my scratch disk is solid state, I have 12 TB of hard drive on board. I am an editor for an independent hollywood producer. I work in all HD media, I will be working with 4K media in the near  using multiple Adobe programs; AE, SG, PrePro, Photoshop, Illustrator, Audition. I would like to stay with Quadro for my graphics card but do not know if the added expense of "maximus" will give me the best "bang-for-the-buck." Can I function at the high end with the Quadro 5000?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 27, 2012 11:31 AM   in reply to stynkrbelle

No way!!!

The much touted Maximus solution, at least by Adobe, is an utter waste of money, because it requires a very expensive Quadro card plus a Tesla C2075 card, that is even slower than a simple two generations old GTX 470, for the simple reason that it lacks CUDA cores and memory bandwidth to make it faster. We have several Maximus solutions in the current PPBM5 benchmark and despite prices up to € 6000 for the Quadro 6000 plus a Tesla C2075, these solutions are easily outperformed by many GTX 470/480/570/580/670 and 680 cards, that cost only a fraction.

BFTB wise, the 670/4GB is the much better option and is significantly faster than even the Quadro 6000 plus the Tesla C2075 for less than 10% of the price.

If you want a pro card, wait for the K20 to appear in Q4.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 27, 2012 12:28 PM   in reply to stynkrbelle

All the GTX cards I mentioned have CUDA cores and sufficient VRAM to allow the use of hardware accelerated MPE.