Skip navigation
Eleivana07
Currently Being Moderated

Removing extra spaces from a long document

Jul 29, 2012 12:33 AM

Hello

I have seen a number of find/change and GREP formulas to do similar things. I have NO scripting or coding experience and have labored to understand GREP.

So I am a little afraid to use it as I don't know what all the modifiers refer to (I do have a printout of some neat GREP cheatsheets like Mike Witherell's that I can absorb until I obtain a good reference )

I need something I can copy and paste into either find/change or GREP dialog that will do the following in less than 12 steps (hopefully) without doing something catastrophic like removing all of my paragraph marks (which I almost did using someones GREP expression)

1. No spaces before any comma, period, exclamation mark, question mark, colon, semicolon
  2. One space only after any of those
  3. One Space before any opening parenthesis and one space after the closing parenthesis
  4. No space after the opening parenthesis or before the closing parenthesis
  5. Remove any double or extra spaces ( en, em etc.)
  6. Remove any commas before parentheses
  7. Remove any spaces after a paragraph mark

I think that's it

I did find this one recently (Maybe Jongware?)

[~m~>~f~|~S~s<~/~,~3~4%]{2

Which from my dim understanding addresses em, en, flush and hair space ,  nonbreaking space ,figure space,third space--not sure of the rest. Really this is way over my head.

I know this will be a piece of cake for you guys

Thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 29, 2012 7:57 AM   in reply to Eleivana07

I was hoping Jongware would come in with something really elegant (and maybe he still will) but in the meantime, my approach would be to start by eliminating all multiple whitespaces except paragraph returns and forced line breaks. This seems to do it:

Find   (\s)(\p{space_separator}|\t)+ and replace with $1