Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I keep a paragraph on one page?

Explorer ,
Jul 29, 2012 Jul 29, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I have FrameMaker 10 and Windows 7 and I'm a newbie, having worked with InDesign.  I've reviewed the answers in the forum that include instructions about the paragraph designer, but those solutions, such as keep with paragraph, orphan lines, etc.,  don't help.

Sometimes when I'm typing, the next line jumps to the beginning of the next page even though there's plenty of the current page left.  I guess I must say that this happens when I'm typing into a document that also has material following.  This material usually seems to be an anchored frame.  I've looked at the anchored frame parameters, tried every option, and still I'm stumped. Right now I'm using a workaround; a paragraph style with a font of one point that I insert where necessary to force things to stick together.  Otherwise, my broken line often travels below the anchored frame.  BTW, when I backspace before the line, more material from the previous page jumps down, instead of that piece of sentence being backspaced back up.

Also, in Indesign it's very easy to size content into the frame.  In FM I'm always shift-dragging to picture after import, to get it to the size of the frame.  Is there a better way to do this?

Also, is there a way to change the defaults?  I never want the frame to be cropped but the checkbox is checked and I have to uncheck it every time.

Also is there a keyboard shortcut for getting a page break to the next page?  The popup is very annoying.  I don't even know what 'wherever it fits' means; doesn't a page break mean, the next page?  And how can I get the default to change to 'next page' or better still get rid of that box altogether?