Skip navigation
Scotster1
Currently Being Moderated

Beginner stumped, possible array solution?

Jul 31, 2012 11:08 AM

Tags: #cs5 #dreamweaver #list #ingredient

Hi there,

I am completely new to using anything other than frontpage for designing webpages so please bear with me

I've been experimenting with dreamweaver all week and it's just phenomonal. Of course through doing this I have gotten a taste of using PHP and Javascript, but I'm completely winging it and googling like a mad-un trying to find answers to, very simple, queries.

Anyway, here is what I am up to now...

I'm creating a very simple website that will host recipes. I have created the databases required etc but I can't fathom out how to dynamically attach a list of ingredients to a recipe.

Eg

Recipe name - WOW

Description - Home made wine

Ingredients | QTY

Sugar | 1000g

juice | 2L

water | 3L

Now for the main database I would like to have 5 columns, Recipe_No, Recipe_name, Recipe_Desc, Recipe_Ing and Recipe_qty.

I just have no idea how to do this. I'm guessing it would be an array? Obviously different recipes would have different amounts of ingredients so the array would need to be made dynamically depending on that.

Even just a nudge in the right direction would be great, I am a complete novice though and have only slightly dabbled with the code side of dreamweaver.

thanks

Scott

(Oh, sorry for the stupid username I got fed up with it refusing the names I was trying so I just typed in any old random key strokes)

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 31, 2012 11:20 AM   in reply to Scotster1

You would need at least two tables in your database. One to store the recipe name, number and description, and another to list the ingredients.

And as an amatuer winemaker myself, I must ask that you do not actually publish that recipe

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 31, 2012 11:50 AM   in reply to Scotster1

You should have 3 tables: recipes, ingredients, recipes_ingredients