Skip navigation
thealmightydrud
Currently Being Moderated

CS5, corrupted .fla file

Aug 1, 2012 7:08 PM

Tags: #cs5 #crash #flash_cs5 #animation #conversion #.fla #corrupted #file_corrupted #flash_8 #corrupted_file

I recently got Flash CS5 a couple days ago. I moved a large .fla file that I'd been working on in Flash 8 into CS5 yesterday and I've been working smoothly with it since then. (I converted it to CS5 format of course)

Suddenly, today, CS5 crashed when I tried to copy/paste a symbol into another file's library. The file I had been working in is now corrupted, since CS5 crashes every time I try to open that file.

I have been working with flash (Flash 8 professional) for four years, and I have never once experienced anything like this. Crashes, sure - but flash8 never corrupted an fla file. Four years, no problems. Two days with CS5 and all of my work in the program is down the drain.

This is very frustrating. Is there anything I can do to save my .fla file, or is this something that I just have to learn to work around?

Thank you for help/suggestions.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 1, 2012 7:59 PM   in reply to thealmightydrud

If you have any kind of backup arranged for your machine, see about restoring the file.  If you don't have any kind of backup, then for the future make it a practice to save older versions as backup on a somewhat regular basis. 

When you start editing files try to make it a habit to save new copies rather than sacving over older files.

When you have files that involve customers, value, or extensive effort, you should keep multiple copies on different media/storage devices.  Every so often I save files and whatnot to dvd data disks.