Skip navigation
avibodha
Currently Being Moderated

Browse without Develop

Aug 3, 2012 5:02 PM

Tags: #no #develop #browse #twice #developed

I'm new to Lightroom 4.1 and have a basic question. After I export to a folder (called "out") for example, how can I browse and review those output images without lightroom trying to Develop them again (for example, apply default sharpening etc)?

I imported the "out" folder and when I browse, those files are re-developed using defaults. Ideally that folder would be "view only". Right now I've been bringing up Bridge to review the output files so I can go back to Lightroom and make adjustments if that are not sharp enough etc.

The only way I can think of is to strip all camera info from the "out" export and that way it won't know the camera serial number and iso and therefore won't try to auto-develop them (that works, but means I can't have camera info in them).

Any ideas on a "no develop" folder view?

thanks much

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 3, 2012 6:16 PM   in reply to avibodha

First, it is possible to have LR import a JPG image without applying any changes to it. And that can be the default for JPG images. If Sharpening is set to 0 then no added sharpening is done.

Second, I have never seen any need or point in re-importing my exported images. The reason for making an export is because you want to have a version of your image outside of LR, for a particular purpose - and that purpose is by definition one that does not involve being inside LR... or there would have been no need to export at all.

I like to keep a clear separation between my LR library, which is a tool for making prints and exports, vs the prints and exports that it has made. A foot and a footprint may be exactly the same shape, but are quite different in their causality and in their natures.

I also find the distinction between picture sharpening, and process sharpening, useful.