Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best Graphics Card for Photo Editing

Engaged ,
Aug 06, 2012 Aug 06, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello All,

I am a professional photographer. I currently use Photoshop CS5 and Lightroom 4.1. I am in the process of having a new computer built just for editing my photography. The board will be an ASUS P9X79 with an intel Core i7-3820 and 16 GB memory. The technician building the computer would like a recommendation of the fastest and or best graphics card for editing still images.

All of my work is done in RAW from a 5D MII. 21 megapixel.

Processing speed has always been a bottleneck for me and Lightroom 4 has not helped.

Can anyone please recommend the best or fastest graphics card for this system?

Thank you, Jim

[please refrain from PII and 3rd party URLs in this area - Moderator]

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

People's Champ , Aug 06, 2012 Aug 06, 2012

James,

Lightroom doesn't need much in terms of graphics cards when editing stills. It would be nice if it made use of the GPUs, but it doesn't. Photoshop may, and some Lightroom "plugins" like the NIK things do make use of fancier graphics, but I suspect that even there, you won't need top of the line graphics. In any case, it won't likely make LR run any faster.

I've got a Core i7-2600 with 8 GB, and LR is smooth and responsive with 12 megapixel images, so your new machine sounds like it'll run L

Votes

Translate

Translate
People's Champ ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

James,