Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Going mobile with an existing website

Aug 7, 2012 5:29 AM

I created a website about two years ago for a client that they now want to be able to access it on an iPhone and an iPad.  They claim they cannot see the website on either of those two devices.  Since I have neither device, I have no idea what they are or are not seeing.  (Site URL:  www.fulcrumcwi.com)

My question is how do I make the existing website usable on those two devices.  I've never done this before so I'm taking this as an opportunity to learn how to do this. Could someone recommend some resources to learn how to do this?

Thanks so much!

graphicedge

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 7, 2012 5:48 AM   in reply to graphicedge

It displays completely fine here on iPhone 4. Your clients may have a connection issue.

There really isn't a trick to make them work on iPhone. Unless your site uses a lot of Flash, it should come up exactly as it looks on a desktop. Some designers feel the need to make a site "iPhone friendly" by watering down the design and shrinking it to fit in the small screen devices, I personally hate that. These devices were designed to allow you to navigate entire sites, as they exist online without the need of a separate "iPhone only" design. I guess some designers are just looking to make their jobs harder by creating two layouts for each site they build.

Don't get me wrong, some of the designs people are coming up with that are "iphone only" are nice (in some cases, better than the desktop version of the site), they're just totally unnecessary.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 7, 2012 5:55 AM   in reply to graphicedge

I've taken a quick look at that website in an iPad. The main page loads and displays correctly, as does the newsletter.

The problems are with other links in the right sidebar. You're using target="_blank", which tells the browser to launch another page, which doesn't work on mobile devices.