Skip navigation
ddsbleton 30 posts
Oct 26, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

96 dpi images shrink when placed

Aug 1, 2012 3:43 PM

Tags: #image #resolutions #place #dpi #mixed

Hi,

Disclaimer: I'm fairly new to InDesign.  Using 5.5 on Windows.

I'm attempting to work with a large number of images that are at a mix of DPIs.  Some are 72, some are 96.

My 72 dpi images place as expected.  My 96 dpi images all place smaller.

I want to place them all without any resizing.  They should appear in the InDesign document exactly as they appear in any other application (Photoshop, etc.)

From the little I can find on this topic, this is apparently impossible.  Apparently, I cannot mix resolutions within a single InDesign doc without having to manually adjust the scaling of one of the image sizes when importing.

But I can't imagine that this is really true.  I want it to "just work."

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 2, 2012 1:29 AM   in reply to ddsbleton

I generally don't use 72 or 96ppi images, so I had to try this for myself. I got the opposite results, but I'm on a Mac. My 96ppi image placed at 100%, and my 72ppi image placed at 25%. Changing the 72 to 73 resulted in a 100% size in InDesign, the way the 96 does.

ddsbleton wrote:

Apparently, I cannot mix resolutions within a single InDesign doc without having to manually adjust the scaling of one of the image sizes when importing.

I don't think it has anything do to with mixing resolutions. That gets done about every day by almost everyone, so there would have been lots of reports on that. I don't know the answer, but is there a reason you are using such low resolution? What about changing the resolution in Photoshop without resampling. That wouldn't affect the quality of the image, and it could be done with an action or maybe a droplet.

|
    Mark as:
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 2, 2012 5:05 AM   in reply to ddsbleton