Skip navigation
bbarnholdt
Currently Being Moderated

Aspect ratio question

Aug 8, 2012 6:11 AM

Tags: #aspect_ratio

I am a video production teacher and we just switched this year from FCP to Premiere Pro.

We have to change all of our video to 4:3 (for our community access ch).

I use Canon HF R32 cameras. They only record in 16:9.  In years past, we would use Clip Wrap and convert the video to 4:3, .mov.

Now, in Premiere Pro, I don't think I need to convert the video. Premiere reads AVCHD files.

But they are 16:9. How do I change or setup the sequence setting so the video is 4:3? 

What I have tried so far, only zooms in on the video and if I export it 4:3, there are black bars across the top and bottom.

What am I missing?

Thanks,

Ben

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 8, 2012 7:22 AM   in reply to bbarnholdt

Is the footage you're shooting HD or SD?

Well if you edit in 16x9 and then export to 4x3 you're going to end up with black bars on the top and bottom that's just the way it goes. The only way you can avoid letterboxing is by

editing the 16x9 footage in a 4x3 sequence and then basically center cutting everything. By this I mean it will only keep what's in the center because since 16x9 is wider than 4x3 it will cut off the sides.You have to plan for this while shooting though.

If your footage is SD then you can just make sequence like what I am showing in this picture. Then just don't scale the footage down at all unless you don't mind letterboxing.

.EXAMPLE.PNG

However if you're just wanting to make a 4x3 sequence then you can just simply make a new sequence and set the settings to 4x3 then put the 16x9 footage in the timeline. Then edit as I have suggested.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 8, 2012 8:09 AM   in reply to bbarnholdt

Edit in a sequence that matches your source footage.