Skip navigation
Raffi CGI
Currently Being Moderated

New to after effects, need advice.

Aug 11, 2012 3:27 PM

Tags: #after_effects

As of now, i have no experience at all with after effects or any other VFX/CG program, we could say im starting from 0, i will soon buy after effects to start actually learning, so i was wondering if there anyplug-ins i should think of buying along to make my learning process easier and faster.

Some plug-ins that caught my eye, and that i've read alot of positive feedback about, are Elements 3D and Trapcode Particular.

Would these plugins be useful to my cause? Is there any other plugins i should be aware of?

I would like to give more detail about what i actually want to learn, but as a newby i cant really say that, for now i probably just want to overally get a grip of the program, learn al the terms and meanings of the various features in after effects and only once i've learned what every feature does ill be able to describe what i actually want from the program.

For now, we could say that i would like to move towards the Visual effect production and 3D animation. (thats why im also thinking of buying 3ds studio max, but thats not really adobe related >.>, Edit: Just checked the price, so i doubt ill buy it, as its out of my current budget, would the 'CameraTracker' Plug-in from videocopilot or the software 'Blender' be a good alternative to 3ds max?)