Skip navigation
cooper1971
Currently Being Moderated

CSS links

Aug 14, 2012 5:41 PM

I'm pretty new to Dw so be gentle. My links have been styled up as black on my pages. They look black in design view, they have the hex value for black in my CSS in code view and they're black when I look at the pages in live view.

When I preview in safari or firefox the links behave as styled for hover etc but they appear in a blue colour otherwise.

Any hints would be handy. This is my first site so not too much technobabble please..

Thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 14, 2012 7:37 PM   in reply to cooper1971

Links have the following states:

Normal

Visited

Hover

Active

Focus

Now you define your styles in the following order:

a { }

a:link { }

a:visited { }

a:focus { }

a:hover { }

a:active { }

Now this should get you started and you can ask a follow-up to clarify anything that is not clear here.

Good luck.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 14, 2012 10:21 PM   in reply to cooper1971

Best if you upload the page to the web and post a link so we can view it in our browsers.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 15, 2012 12:41 AM   in reply to cooper1971

Hello,

in addition to the former hints, you could have a look at Nancy O.'s tutorials. I made a search for you, where you can see some of her fine advices:

http://search.freefind.com/find.html?id=84095852&pid=r&mode=ALL&n=0&_c harset_=utf-8&bcd=%C3%B7&query=link+hover, or esp.

http://alt-web.com/Tutorials/css_links.html and http://alt-web.com/Articles/Persistent-Page-Indicator.shtml.

If these things should be too complicated for you, I also recommend that you load up your page to your server and give us a link, no matter how it looks like.

Good luck!

Hans-Günter

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 15, 2012 3:11 AM   in reply to hans-g.

Thanks everyone,

I'd seen the CSS link order on google and thought that might be the solution but it hasn't worked. My CSS on my index page looks like this: