• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Download file created from BLOB (as opposed to opening in browser)

LEGEND ,
Aug 14, 2012 Aug 14, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, everyone.

This project is really pushing me to become acquainted with a lot of functions I've never worked with, before.

The question, this time:

If I have a database table that houses files (and these can be PDF, TXT, DOC, XLS, or PPT) and would like to allow a user to download and save a particular file (as opposed to opening the file in the browser), how would I go about doing that?

If the file existed on the server, that'd be simple enough.  But if it's being created on-the-fly via BLOB data??

V/r,

^_^

TOPICS
Database access

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Engaged , Aug 14, 2012 Aug 14, 2012

Yes, assuming that the BLOB is in the correct binary format.  Like this:

<cfheader name="content-disposition" value="attachment; filename=""whatever.pdf""" />

<cfcontent type="application/pdf" variable="#your_blob_variable#" />

Votes

Translate

Translate
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Look at the cfheader and cfcontent tags.  You can specify the MIME type of the file to have it open in the correct program on the user's end.

For example, on pdf files I usually do something like this:

<cfheader name="content-disposition" value="inline; filename=""whatever.pdf""" />

Beware because some settings (like opening in a browser or not) are controlled by the user's preferences with that particular software.  And different browsers behave differently (surprise).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines