Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Crop comp to ROI doesn't work

Aug 17, 2012 3:11 AM

I'm new to After Effects and I'm using AE6.

I'm working on a video clip.

After drawing a Region of Interest I selected Crop Comp to Region of Interest in the Composition drop down menu.  Nothing happens!  The original bounding box of the comp stays the same and when I render with Crop>use region of interest checked off it crops only the width but not the height.

Any suggestions?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 17, 2012 4:13 AM   in reply to raylaur

Screenshots perhaps? More info on you system and comp settings?

Mylenium

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 17, 2012 5:14 AM   in reply to raylaur

The first question I have after seeing your screenshots is what are you going to do with this cropped comp. This new comp size isn't standard to anything and won't work for most delivery codecs. Even encoding for the web or playback in a browser or powerpoint using H.264 won't work because MPEG codecs have very specific frame size requirements that you must consider.

The second thing that is probably confusing you is the bounding box. The bounding box always shows the boundary of the clip and it has nothing to do with the size of the composition. You can hide it using the View Options or by deselecting Show Layer Controls.

The composition settings clearly show a comp with a non standard frame size that is smaller than HD. It looks like Crop to ROI worked just fine. The size of the composition changed. The only problem I see is that this comp won't render to any standard delivery format without problems.

I will occasionally use crop to region of interest if I'm pre-rendering a shot for use in another composition using an appropriate codec. I will also occasionally crop a pre-comp to make it easier to deal with in a complex project. The feature isn't useful for much else.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 17, 2012 7:20 AM   in reply to raylaur