Skip navigation
Dave_Burrows
Currently Being Moderated

Several aspects of my code aren't working

Aug 17, 2012 6:16 AM

Tags: #error #template #dreamweaver #images

Hello;

This is my first time using Dreamweaver.  This Photoshop illustration is what I'm working towards.

I'm as close as I can get it right now, though, and my code is coming up short of the mark.  The box above the table is to be the only image; the other 6 are text boxes.

1.  Looking at the work in the WYSIWYG editor of DW, the top of the text boxes is either raise 15 or 20 px, or has moved off to the left about the same distance; I can't seem to get the divs to space evenly.

2.  In Firefox, the text box tops are where they belong - this is browsing the file on my drive, it's not uploaded anywhere - and the divs are spaced pretty well.  However, as you can see, the center section of each text box looks correct in the WYSIWYG editor of DW, but in my browser, it's opaque when it should be translucent.

3.  The cave paintings aren't appearing except outside the margins; they are part of the same graphic that is the background.  If I had my drothers, it would display above the text boxes (that illustration itself is also a transparancy separate from the background) in one place, and one place only.  I suspect that could be done with CSS, but I don't know where to begin.

Could I possibly impose on anyone who knows how to fix even a part of what's broken for your expertice, and some of your time?  I'd be much obliged.

Peace,

Dave

DR. SEUSS

I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells.   Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living, it's a way of looking at   life through the wrong end of a telescope. Which is what I do, and that   enables you to laugh at life's realities.

CARL SAGAN

Skeptical scrutiny is the means, in both science and religion, by which deep thoughts can be winnowed from deep nonsense.

JAMES JOYCE