The X Adobe Reader Updater in my home directory's Library/Caches is prompting an internet call-out to the "b.voicefive.com" site (according to the "Little Snitch" utility). Why ???
Is this what it is designed to do ???
That's a slightly strange thing for it to do. I googled for voicefive and opinions differ. Some people consider them involved with adware and others not (see e.g. http://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2010/06/02/mac-osx-monitorware/).
I would recommend downloading the updater again from Adobe.com to make sure it hasn't been messed with. Don't download from anyone else offering it, of course, and double check it really is adobe.com - people impersonating legitimate download sites are on the increase.
Hmm, see also this:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/blog/2010/jun/02/apple-spyware-in tego-discovery
http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/blog/2010/jun/02/apple-spyware-in tego-discovery
Downloaded any free screensavers lately?
North America
Europe, Middle East and Africa
Asia Pacific