While viewing a thread in the Adobe forums my Avast! Antivirus blocked a script running in Firefox. It attempted to download a trojan to my PC.
The source of the script was: http://forums.adobe.com/4.5.6/resources/scripts/gen/220b1b06a29F901e1d 24252ac800883e.js.
The infection was: JS:Blacole-AV [Trj]
EDIT: It is happening more frequently now from various links. Like: http://forums.adobe.com/community/coldfusion
Message was edited by: bswanwick
No, I'm fully protected by the same AV bswanwick is, and I'm not seeing any malware.
Edit: I just verified (via IE9's F12 Developer Tools) that I am indeed loading:
/4.5.6/resources/scripts/gen/220b1b06a29f901e1d24252ac800883e.js
Whether we all get the data from the same servers is not certain.
-Noel
From Jive support:
We have concluded that this was an issue with the virus definitions of Avast (#120828-1). If you update to the newest virus definitions (currently #120828-2), you should not receive the warning anymore as it has fixed the problem. This was a simple false positive, so there is no need to worry about infected computers due to this.
John,
We have concluded that this was an issue with the virus definitions of Avast (#120828-1). If you update to the newest virus definitions (currently #120828-2), you should not receive the warning anymore as it has fixed the problem.
Good to know, and thank you for reporting.
Appreciated,
Hunt
Perhaps the threat wasn't fase-positive according to this link:
<http://blog.fireeye.com/research/2012/08/zero-day-season-is-not-over-y et.html>
Why is it some one finds a bug/exploit and rather than notfying the Software Manufacturers on the QT, instead publishes it all for to see including the bad guys. Guaranteeing that the exploit will be used.
I'm sure there are people heare smart enough to use it and might even consider it. And someone has provided a link on howto create it.
I'm not smart enough, just looking as the code given makes me zone out and gives hradache looking at it.
Nothing to do with me. I was simply saying that bswanwick didn't have "false-positive" as suggested above because this was announced all over the place on the web. Yes avast is not a good anti-virus but it is dangerous to discount everything as false-positive when Jive might be under attach from outside NOT from USERs here.
I wasn't referring to you. I was referring to the person who created the link to start with.
And BTW: In my post I made it sound like the forum visitors would use the code. I'm sure the folks here are honorable enough not to use it. I know I wouldn't even if I could make sense of the code.
mytaxsite.co.uk wrote:
Perhaps the threat wasn't fase-positive according to this link:
<http://blog.fireeye.com/research/2012/08/zero-day-season-is-not-over-y et.html>
This is about the well-publicized vulnerability in Java 1.7; Jive does not use Java, to the best of my knowledge. (Java is not related to JavaScript in any way.)
Security Alert for CVE-2012-4681 released August 30, 2012 by Oracle to address 3 distinct but related vulnerabilities (CVE-2012-4681, CVE-2012-1682 and CVE-2012-3136) and one security issue (CVE-2012-0547) affecting Java running in desktop browsers.
These - high severity - vulnerabilities can be exploited to install malware, including Trojans, onto the targeted system. This malware may in some instances be detected by current antivirus signatures upon its installation.
https://blogs.oracle.com/security/entry/security_alert_for_cve_20121
I was just following @mytaxsite's post #9 above concerning there might've been something more than just a 'simple false positive' as concluded by Jive support.
If it was so then why is it that the referenced page isn't available since then?
While I think there might've been a redirecting attempt, it was probably 'to' and not 'from' that Adobe page, originated by a malicious javascript on bswanwick's FF browser?
Anyway, without further information (if reported to Avast!) from @bswanwick there's nothing else to add but that I'm glad he is (and the forums) Ok.
______________________________________________________
PD.- Security researchers' reports on the BlackHole Kit to exploit Java (and others) flaws - Did you read the latest?
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/08/31/critical_flaw_found_in_patched _java/
RickCP wrote:
PD.- Security researchers' reports on the BlackHole Kit to exploit Java (and others) flaws - Did you read the latest?
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/08/31/critical_flaw_found_in_patched _java/
But how is this related to this topic, or this forum?
North America
Europe, Middle East and Africa
Asia Pacific