Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Help me figure out why my Indesign CS5 keeps crashing

Sep 10, 2012 11:35 PM

Tags: #cs5 #crash #indesign #crashing #index

Here's the scoop:

1. I created a long document (book) in CS5. I'm a novice so it was a miracle. lol.
  2. I needed help with the Index, so sent it to a gal with CS4 to create the Index
  3. She sent it back. I put it into my Indesign fine...but I then started noticing crashing if I was correcting anything, such as deleting several lines, inserting page break, doing the 4th bullet, doing the 4th of a correction, trying to move a section, changing the font size of a heading, etc. Constant crashes.
  4. My Crash Report: http://pastebin.com/TT9Kr45e
  5. I even tried making a copy to start deleting half, then delete half of that...etc...to find the problem. It only caused another crash. This was when the original doc was now next to the Copy. i.e. Indesign couldn't handle both at all.

I'm stymied! HELP.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Sep 11, 2012 2:50 AM   in reply to chocolatechipmeringue

The first thing is to install the InDesign 7.0.4 update.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 11, 2012 8:42 AM   in reply to chocolatechipmeringue

chocolatechipmeringue wrote:

It's completely updated. Was before this all started. 

Not according to the crash report....

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 11, 2012 1:18 PM   in reply to chocolatechipmeringue

Post the new crash report so we can have a look.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 11, 2012 2:20 PM   in reply to chocolatechipmeringue

Next step is probaly to clear the font caches and to check for damaged fonts.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 11, 2012 3:29 PM   in reply to chocolatechipmeringue

Cocktail should do it nicely. I'm not sure where to point you for a utility to check the fonts, though. Most font managers have that kind of tool, but I'm pretty sure Apple's own font book does not.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 11, 2012 3:40 PM   in reply to chocolatechipmeringue