Skip navigation
alfateam1976
Currently Being Moderated

Any chance for a begginer to create a professional website ?

Sep 20, 2012 1:31 PM

Any chance for a begginer to create a professional website ?

I have no experience at all - zero- on web design - web creating. Registering Adobe Dreameaver will enable me to create myself a professional website ? I need a website similar to bwin.com  in design but it is not a betting site . Latest web site design/ support chat/ forum section/ members acces / paypal/ card/payments.

I wonder how much time it takes to learn it.. instead of paying 1000euro - the price a webdesigner asked for the job..

thank you

Mario

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Sep 20, 2012 1:49 PM   in reply to alfateam1976

Will probably take you a couple of years to learn what you need (wild guess).

The quote you got is very, very cheap if they're really offering you a website to compare with bwin.com.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 20, 2012 2:02 PM   in reply to alfateam1976

1000 Euros is a bargain!!

When you need a plumber or electrician you hire an experienced professional, not some amateur whose never done this before, right?.  Well, the same goes for web development.

Unless you can devote 30-40 hours per week for 6-12 months learning everything you need to know about HTML, CSS, JavaScript, server-side programming, databases and web security, you have zero chance of doing all this on your own.  Owning Dreamweaver doesn't make you an instant web developer any more than owning a digital camera makes you a professional photographer.  It's not the tools, it's the person using them.  The more skills you bring to the table, the more success you'll have.

That said, there are some good frameworks out there that might help you get the job done faster.  But you still need good coding skills and very good grasp of how the web works.

Are you up for that?

Nancy O.

|
    Mark as:
  • Sudarshan Thiagarajan
    4,000 posts
    Oct 15, 2010