Skip navigation
Tony Deller2
Currently Being Moderated

CS6 Crop Tool and the disappearing image?

Sep 20, 2012 4:08 AM

I am new to CS6. Sometimes when I use the the crop tool, the image I want to crop disappears from the screen. I am left with a blank screen/window so cannot see where to place the crop. When I click to another tool a pop up window asks me if I want to make the crop? To which I click the 'don't crop' button and my image reappears. As soon as I click on the crop tool again, the image again disappears.

Why? What am I doing wrong? It does not happen every time.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Sep 20, 2012 10:44 AM   in reply to Tony Deller2

Hi tony.deller,

I've tried to replicate what I think may be happening to you. When I first select the crop tool, here is what I see:

Crop-tool-1.jpg

Notice the "L" shapes at each corner. Those are the handles you use to drag into your image as you decide how to crop it. What I noticed is that they are really responsive and can move quickly. I made my photo disappear off the screen by accidentally dragging one of the corners too far.

Here is what that looked like:

Croptool-2.jpg

I dragged too far up and to the left and the cropping area moved completely off the image. If I had pressed the Enter key to complete the crop, my entire photo would have been cropped away. If you find yourself in this situation, try starting over. You can escape out of a bad cropping situation by using these keyboard shortcuts (this shortcut uses the period key plus either the Command key on Mac or Control key on Windows):

Mac: Cmd + .

Windows: Ctrl + .

I hope this helps,

Luanne

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 21, 2012 12:49 PM   in reply to Tony Deller2

That sounds like you've got a video card driver problem (like many similar posts in the Photoshop general forum).

Try updating your video card driver from the GPU maker's website.

|
    Mark as:
  • Pierre Courtejoie
    7,038 posts
    Jan 11, 2006