Skip navigation
Nic0nik0
Currently Being Moderated

Advice on how to keep Flash website small & fast

Sep 12, 2012 5:51 AM

Tags: #as3 #graphics #loader #external_swf #flash_site #website_speed #ui_loader

Hi, I'm developing my first Flash website (I know, I know, there are plenty of reasons to use other development products, but for now it will be Flash), and I envision a site with several pages and needing to load some large graphics.  I'm doing the main design work in Illustrator and importing it into Flash.  I'm not too concerned with animation except perhaps moving some buttons around.  My plan so far is to use a lot of UI loaders to keep the main .swf small and to really try to keep the coding pretty simple as I'm a newbie anyway.  I'm looking for general advice on how to prevent the main site from loading quickly - for example, I don't have a good sense of the best format to use for graphics, or which makes the site slower: using several UI loaders or just keeping the content in the main site?  Is a lot of code or large graphics more draining on the load time?  Any thoughts on what you think I can do or not do to keep it lean would be super appreciated, or any other resources you might be able to point me to.

Thanks in advance!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Sep 12, 2012 11:52 AM   in reply to Nic0nik0

"I'm looking for general advice on how to prevent the main site from loading quickly"

That contradicts the title of your posting. 

Optimize/resize all graphics that you import into the file before you import them.  Otherise, load all sizeable content dynamically, especially sound and video files.  Which types of images you use depends on the nature of the images and the intentions.  Generally, between jpeg and gif you will get the best savings bite-wise.  Anything you can draw using the Flash drawing tools is a bonus in the savings department.