Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

PDF generation not respecting right margin

New Here ,
Mar 25, 2013 Mar 25, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello FM community,

I'm relatively new to FrameMaker and I'm hoping you might be able to help me out with an margin issue I've been experiencing lately, probably the last two weeks or so.

I have the TCS 3.5 which includes Frame 10 and Acrobat X Pro.

I use FM to produce my company's user manual.  I use a couple of master pages for different types of pages, like section pages and title pages, but the majority of my manual  uses the same master page which is just a simple header, footer, and giant text frame in the middle.

Up until recently (about 2 weeks), everything generated fine when I went to save as PDF. 

Recently, however, whenever I save as PDF, Acrobat distiller and/or FrameMaker is not respecting my right margins and will generate OFF the page.  The text displays perfectly in FM, but when I generate as PDF, random pages print outside of the right margin.

Has anybody experienced this before?  Forgive me if this has come up many times, but it is new to me, and I would appreciate any newbie tips on how to troubleshoot this issue.

This is how it looks in FrameMaker:

FM margin.png

This is how it generates as PDF:

PDF margin.png

Thanks so much!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

That does look rather strange. A few more details would help.

What jobtions did you specify?

What was the output sheet size specified?

Are you generating for CMYK or RGB?

What is your FrameMaker point version, i.e. have you patched FM10 to the latest version?

Are you geting any font substitutions - looks different between the FM & PDF outputs?