• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

FrameMaker10 file suffix "auto.fm.DAC"

Community Beginner ,
Apr 24, 2013 Apr 24, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

FM crashed, produced an auto save file (.auto.fm) and another file w/suffix ".auto.fm.DAC"

• What does the DAC stand for?
  • What is this files format?
  • Why do I need this?

This is my first time ever recieving this type of recover file. Please enlighten me, I did a web search and found nothing related to FrameMaker.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Apr 25, 2013 Apr 25, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The .auto files aren't crash files, per se. They are created periodically because you have auto-save enabled. They are equivalent to doing a save-as with a different name.

What is supposed to be created during a crash is a .recover file, which is a save-as-MIF, but is named recover.fm. Use these files only to copy and paste recent edits, because they often contain whatever structure problem caused the crash.

Oft times the crash itself crashes, and that scatters files of various names, which I suspect describes the .DAC file. These may or may not contain scraps of anything useful.

And sometimes Frame just winks out altogether, leaving nothing useful about, nor any hints in the log, plus lock file litter you need to deal with.

When you get a crashed document recovered, do a MIF wash.

Save often during normal work.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied