• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Saving 300 dpi JPG 1920 x 1080 to 8000x4500?

Jun 24, 2013 Jun 24, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello! well i'm new to illustrator (what i've been using is photoshop) and my problem is that I want to save a jpg file, so I create a document at 1920x1080 pixels at 300 dpi and once finished I go to the option of export and set it to 300 dpi and it saves it at 8000x4500? when I set it to 72 dpi there is no problem and saves at 1920x1080, but I want it at 300 dpi and not such a big file that sometimes it doesn't even have enough memory to save.

If someone could please tell whats going on becuse i'm pretty lost at this point.

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 25, 2013 Jun 25, 2013

Daniel,

Yes, a) = b).

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

it doesn't work how you think it works.  illustrator's workspace is fixed to a set unit which is 72dpi. if you set your document in pixels and then change your units diplay to inches you'll see that your document really is 15x26 inches. if you export that at 300 dpi then you get your huge file.

in the end, you are working with paper sizes, not DPIs. you can't work at 300 dpi.

you could set your document at 6.4x3.6 inches, but in working units that would be 460x259pixels. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied