• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Converting .docx to PDF changes formatting

Community Beginner ,
Sep 18, 2013 Sep 18, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a technical writer and Word is my only tool available for publishing documents.  Most of the documents I publish are anywhere between 10-150 pages, and they are all created in Word and published in PDF format (converting with Acrobat).

It is rare to convert a document to PDF that doesn't contain any formatting errors that weren't there prior to conversion.  More specifically, these things occur when converting to PDF:

-Page breaks are inserted after some Figure cross-references

-Heading styles change completely

-Some black text becomes blue

-Images are pushed on to the next page, even if it fit well in the Word doc

Considering that I do not have access to Framemaker or anything comparable, is there ANY way to prevent these changes when converting from Word to PDF?  It's especially aggravating in longer documents, because I have to re-format them several times before most (but almost never all) of the issues are resolved.

TOPICS
Create PDFs

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Feb 14, 2016 Feb 14, 2016

Hi hlmzzzz

Have you tried saving as a .doc instead of .docx? This simple workaround fixes a number of issues for me. Let me know, good luck!

Damian

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Sep 19, 2013 Sep 19, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What version of Word are you using? If you're running Word 2010 have you tried setting the Adobe PDF printer as the default and then setting "Use printer metrics to lay out document" under Options > Advanced > Layout options dialog in Word?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines