• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is it a best practice to have a template with one master page?

Explorer ,
Jan 31, 2014 Jan 31, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a newbie FM 11 writer and am cleaning up some unorganized books. Should I copy one set of Master Pages to all files in the book. Currently my TOC and certain other files have unique master pages. I would like to set up our books using best practices and would like input from the community. Thanks.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are two schools of thought on this. The specific sub-template approach or the "kitchen sink" approach.

In the "kitchen sink" (i.e. everything, including the...) approach, the FM template is loaded with everything required for the project in a single file. It's simple to deploy, import it to all files and you're good to go. However, the author may have to deal with all sorts of superfluous tags and page layouts in some specific file types, like the cover pages, TOC, Index and other generated files. The onus is on the author to select the correct items to use from the multitude of choices.