• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Stored Procedure Parameter Code

New Here ,
Aug 19, 2013 Aug 19, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to CF and I am trying to understand some CFSTOREDPROC code. My question is withing this code there is sometimes a CFIF statement to determine how the CFPROCPARAM is set, whereas with other lines this is not done.

<CFPROCPARAM VALUE="#arguments.frmstruct.cutomerIdAutoValueContainer#" cfsqltype="CF_SQL_VARCHAR"

vs

<cfif

isdefined('arguments.frmstruct.SALESPERSON') and len(arguments.frmstruct.SALESPERSON) gt 1>

<cfelse>

<CFPROCPARAM VALUE="" cfsqltype="CF_SQL_VARCHAR">

</cfif>

Does this make sense to have the code like this and why? Couldn't we just have the CFPROCPARAM without the CFIF to test the value if GT 1?

i.e.     <CFPROCPARAM VALUE="#arguments.frmstruct.SALESPERSON#" cfsqltype="CF_SQL_VARCHAR">

<CFPROCPARAM VALUE="#arguments.frmstruct.SALESPERSON#" cfsqltype="CF_SQL_VARCHAR">

TOPICS
Advanced techniques

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,
Mar 27, 2014 Mar 27, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

My guess would be that it is providing some validation and error trapping.  If arguments.frmstruct.SALESPERSON didn't exist and you didn't check first, then using arguments.frmstruct.SALESPERSON in the CFPROCPARAM tag would throw an error.  So this is what the isDefined() part is doing for you.  The other part (the len() function) makes sure that the value of arguments.frmstruct.SALESPERSON is more than one character long.  This seems a little odd to me, unless that is a valid business rule that must be enforced.

If the intent is really to trap for empty strings or strings with just spaces, that can be done more effectively by changing this:

len(arguments.frmstruct.SALESPERSON) gt 1

to this: