• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Dual Flash/HTML5 Publishing

Community Beginner ,
Apr 20, 2014 Apr 20, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Captivate 7 and see the checkboxes to publish to Flash and HTML5 (with SCORM 1.2), but it seems to just create two completely separate launch pages, one each for flash and HTML5.  Is there a way to generate a combined launch page that will interpret the browser and direct the user to either the flash or HTML5 assets as appropriate?  We would prefer to use HTML5 as the default, with flash as the fallback option for older browsers (e.g., IE8) that do not support HTML5.

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Apr 20, 2014 Apr 20, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there

I believe that's exactly how things work. Note that when you produce both SWF and HTML 5 outputs, you get several files. Among them is a file named Index.html

I believe that file is the "combined launch page" that you are seeking. I believe that file "sniffs" the browser and redirects accordingly to the appropriate output.

Cheers... Rick

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Apr 21, 2014 Apr 21, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks, Rick.  The index_SCORM.html (it's just index.html if there's no SCORM included in the output) plays in HTML5 by default, and if the browser isn't compatible (e.g., IE8) it displays an error message that the browser is not supported, please use IE9+, Safari 5.1+, or Chrome 17+, etc.  However, there's no redirect to the flash version.  It's just a static message.