Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Flash Video Jerky / Choppy Fullscreen Chrome

May 25, 2012 2:40 PM

Tags: #flash #windows_7 #choppy #flash_player #chrome #flashplayer #jerky #11.3 #vidoe

I've been having this problem for a couple of years using Flash video across ALL websites.  When I play a full screen flash video, the video gets choppy or jerky.  The audio continues perfectly.  I'm a pretty tech and computer savvy person, so I have tried a lot of the fixes I could think of.  I ended up finding one SOLUTION to the jerky video that works EVERY SINGLE TIME.  If I right-click the full-screen video, and allow the settings menu to remain on top of the video while it plays, I NEVER have issues with jerky or choppy video.  If I cancel the settings menu, the jerkiness returns immediately and remains throughout the video duration.  To help diagnose this, here's my specs and stuff I have tried.

Dell 1764 running Win 7 x64 on a Core i5 processor, 4Gig RAM.

all builds of chrome in the last couple of years, w/ and w/out the included flash (i.e. disabling in about:plugins).

24mbps cable connection, with no buffering issues noted

Cleared cookies, history, temp files, ran anti-virus and spyware.

Have always been up-to-date w/ windows updates.

Fullscreen videos that do work flawlessly:

Netflix using the Silverlight plugin.  Youtube HTML5 videos.  Any DVD's or downloaded videos play perfectly in VLC and MPC.

So, in summation:  Flash vidoes in fullscreen are Jerky/choppy using Chrome browser.  When I right-click and allow that menu to remain on top, jerkiness goes away.  Cancel the right-click menu, problems return.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 25, 2012 4:35 PM   in reply to craigeryjohn

Please check out the following troubleshooting guide for Flash video:

http://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb/video-playback-issues.html