Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Feature Request (again); Adobe Bridge Cache Manager

Jun 15, 2012 10:10 AM

In Adobe Bridge, the Cache is still a problem and a huge memory hog. I asked for a good Cache Manager over 3 years ago when it was needed CS4.

Now in CS6, I am disappointed that the cache system in Bridge has not changed. Why do you have a section in the Adobe Forums that asks for 'Feature Request' and then ignore them?

http://forums.adobe.com/message/2652688#2652688

"I would personally like a tool within Bridge that allows me to manage and control the Cache in a more personal and effective way. I would like a toggle that would keep '100% previews' in one folder for a selected period of time (1 day to 1 month) before the folder's cache is automatically purged. And another toggle that would give me the option to keep a selected folder's cache permanently intact (such as an Important Portfolio Folder or an Edited Images Folder).

As a photographer, I take and edit a lot of photos. When I import a photoshoot with 1,500 photos (not uncommom at all) I enjoy having the Bridge Previews at 100%, but for only a limited time. Unfortunately, I forget to purge the individual cache of that folder and the cache builds to a point that makes Adobe Bridge CS4 very slow. I then have to Purge the whole Bridge Cache in order to make Bridge run smooth again.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 15, 2012 5:30 PM   in reply to AdobeUser-1991

For Adobe to implement feature requests they have to have a lot of users requesting the same thing.  There is a feature request poll that one can start to add to but do not know address.

I think your best bet, and a whole lot faster, would be to contact the people on the Bridge Scripting forum and see it there is a script that will do it, or if someone will write one.

Have never done any scripting but seems like your request would be quite simple to implelment.