Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Fluid grid layout problem in IE and Firefox

Jun 21, 2012 9:38 PM

I just got DW CS6 and decided to try the fluid grid layout. This is my first try at doing it. I have 12 grid columns with 3 divs across the page. Each div spans 4 columns. In Opera, Safari and Chrome, everything works fine. However, in IE and Firefox, the div on the right side of the page drops down under the left div (the middle one and the left one stay where they belong). How do I fix this? The page is still a work in progress (obviously), but the url is http://www.brucebarrdesign.com/index_fluid.htm

Thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Calculating status...
    Jun 22, 2012 9:11 AM   in reply to BruceMCE

Hi

I've only just upgraded to CS6 so not tried the feature myself yet, but I like fluid layouts so will be. The three colums all have the css style attributes:  width: 32.2033%; and margin-left: 1.6949%; in fluid_layout.css (1st colmn has a margin of 0).

Now I don't know how familiar you are with web coding and this isn't the place to try to tutor you in it. The number of digits after the decimal tells me you've let DW assign these % entirely by itself without any guidance. Those measurements all add up a bit tight, to me, to 100% (I've not done the maths). I always allow a little leeway for the difference in the way the browsers calculate things - not so it's visually disturbing - but precisely to avoid this very problem. I'd round the figures down manually in the css styles dialogues or by editing the stylesheet directly.

width: 32%; and margin-left: 1.5%;  checking the maths so I'd know how much % leeway that leaves.

Like I said I've not used this feature myself yet so I don't know if there is somewhere to tell DW to round numbers down itself.

Hope this helps.

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 22, 2012 1:27 PM   in reply to BruceMCE