Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Premiere CS6 major RAM problem

Jul 30, 2012 1:21 PM

A little backstory..I've been using CS6 for 2-3 months now, and originally started with the trial.

I started work on a particularly large project. It's a compilation episode for a show, and draws from multiple full-length episode sources of very large file sizes. I do not have access to the other episode projects and clips etc., nor do I have the time now to export the bits and pieces I'm using and condense the project size as its deadline is imminent. I suppose once the core editing's done i can use project manager to condense it then, but I don't think that will fix my problem.

The machine I'm using is:

Mac Pro 2008 2.8GHz 8-core

Snow Leopard 10.6.8

GeForce 8800 GT

16GB RAM

Blackmagic DeckLink HD Extreme 3D capture card

2.5 TB SATA hd space, including 2TB in RAID 0

1 TB eSATA external hd dock

MenuMeters for disc/RAM usage monitoring

Most of the work I do is directly off the RAID drive, which clocks at about 170MB/s read/write speeds, though due to the nature of this project, I have to use sources on the external, which clocks at about 130.

The problem I'm having is, out of the blue, Premiere randomly started doubling its RAM usage. It will jump from using around 5000-6000MB to about 11200. And the numbers it jumps to are extremely specific, usually 11171, 11185/86/87, or 11201. Once it does this jump, the machine pretty well locks up until Premiere is quit, or sometimes even a full restart. The timing and actions are totally random. Sometimes it takes 2 or 3 minutes, sometimes a couple of hours. It happens both when I'm doing complex work, or something as simple as scrubbing audio. It has even happened when I've left the machine sitting for lunch, running no other processes whatsoever, not even Firefox, literally just sitting there waiting for my return.