Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Banding/posterisation problem I cannot fix.

Sep 17, 2012 2:18 PM

Tags: #problem #brushes #painting #gradients #banding #posterization

Hi, I am currently experiencing extremely bad banding in photoshop.

I've used photoshop to paint for many years (I'm a production artist for children's television) and never had this kind of thing before. It could be a total coincidence, but it seemed only to get like this since I upgraded to Production premium CS6.

I've trauled these forums and others and tried everything people have suggested but nothing works. I have the newest Nvidia drivers, the latest photoshop and production suite updates. I've tried turning off GPU acceleration and I've calibrated my monitors and cintiq several times using the Spyder 3 Elite calibration tools. I've created 8bit, 16bit  and 32bit images and the problem persists no matter what. Other stats:

Adobe Photoshop Version: 13.0.1 (13.0.1 20120808.r.519 2012/08/08:21:00:00) x64

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280M

Am I missing something here?

This is a 16bit image saved as a jpeg, but still a relatively accurate example of what I see in photoshop. In fact it looks better here. It was created using a low opacity brush with hardness set to zero.

banding_problem.jpg

I feel like I've tried everything and I'm pulling my hair out. And help would be gratefully appreciated!

Thank you,

David

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Sep 17, 2012 2:27 PM   in reply to Davy-Art

There was a very similar problem a few weeks ago. I'll go try to find the thread.

|
    Mark as:
  • Noel Carboni
    23,514 posts
    Dec 23, 2006
    Sep 17, 2012 2:30 PM   in reply to Davy-Art

I'm not sensing any more posterization in that image than would be expected on a 24 bit display.

I assume you're seeing some multiple level jumps between adjacent colors?