Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Read a PDF with Read Out Loud

Oct 3, 2012 12:08 AM

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 3, 2012 12:08 AM   in reply to Community Help

Adobe Acrobat 10 Pro

Read lout doesn't work though I've checkedball settings according to this document.

(Scansoft Omnipage read out is correctly reading; Why not Adobe programs?)

Where is the problem?

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 3, 2012 4:01 AM   in reply to time consuming

Is the document a graphic or actual text?

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 3, 2012 7:28 AM   in reply to Bill@VT

Hello,

Thank you for answering.

It is an actual text (I can modify it) with Acrobat.

Yours.

P.P.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 8, 2012 12:22 PM   in reply to Community Help

I prefer to use the text to speech function on my Mac, rather than the Read Out Loud feature on Acrobat Pro, because it allows me to easily stop the voice when I need to make edits on the pdf (I'm an editor). However, the text to speech function doesn't appear work for Acrobat Pro X, though it works fine with my version 8 (with the same pdf file). Has Pro X changed so much that the text to speech function no longer works, as with several other great features of the earlier versions? I'd be deeply disappointed if that is the case--I will certainly not buy X for all my computers. Any ideas on why it wouldn't work?

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 8, 2012 6:50 PM   in reply to Lenore Hietkamp

Just noticed I had not gotten back on this. I just went back and ran a PDF with read out loud in AA9. It had no problems. I would have to change computers to try AAXI, but I suspect that works fine. I find that it reads everything (labels and everything else) and reads in a fast, monotonous tone (probably typical of readers). You do have to be your speakers on (I say this because mine are off by default on this tablet and I only turn them on when needed).

I don't think this helps your problem, but at least it is some feedback.

|
    Mark as: