Skip navigation
Allyson90
Currently Being Moderated

Bring back color icons in Dreamweaver (Was:Uninstall latest update?)

Aug 29, 2013 9:41 AM

Tags: #creative_cloud #dreamweaver_update #uninstall_update

I'm brand new to Dreamweaver and using it for a school class, and I really hate the latest update- among other things, I miss my color icons, I was surprised what a huge difference having them makes.

I am using Creative Cloud (CS6) and am hoping somebody could walk me throug the process of uninstalling this update?

If it helps, I'm running Windows 7 on a 64bit system.

Thanks,

Lauren

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 3, 2012 8:56 PM   in reply to Allyson90

I had the same concern. My process was to uninstall Dreamweaver CS6 from the Control Panel (Start> Control Panel> Uninstall a program) Then I downloaded CS6 from Adobe’s website: http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?product=dreamweaver and reinstalled it.

Once the downloaded version is installed, you’ll have your icons back.

You can have both – DW CS6 Cloud version and color icons, but it requires customizing your version of Dreamweaver, which you and others here may not be comfortable with:

Color-Icons.jpg

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 3, 2012 11:07 PM   in reply to Allyson90

As I was recently reminded, Dreamweaver is highly extensible. Adobe has some info on this: http://help.adobe.com/en_US/dreamweaver/cs/extend/index.html (I assume it will be updated for CS6 at some point)

The icons for the menus are located here for Win7 64bit: C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe Dreamweaver CS6\configuration\Objects (Default location. Your install path may vary)

The Common folder (inside of Objects) for example, contains most of the Common Insert icon PNGs, with the exception of the Video and Div PNGs, which are located in Media and Layout, respectively.