Skip navigation
TheBinarySon
Currently Being Moderated

Converting jpgs of documents to black & white pdfs

Oct 11, 2012 1:59 PM

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Long story short - I can provide more details if necessary - I have a collection of jpg files that are pictures of documents - no images - that I had to take to copy them instead of zeroxing them.  I am trying to convert them into pdfs that are:

1.) as black and white as possible so as to make it as close to printing a regular black and white word document as possible (instead of using a lot of printer ink on printing pictures that just happen to be saved in pdf format), and

2.) searchable vis-a-vis OCR.

After a recommendation from a teacher, I purchased Adobe Acrobat a few days ago which I've never used before.  That being said, I can convert them into pdfs, I can make them searchable because I've played around with the OCR and that seems pretty straight forward.

However, no matter how many times I try, no matter how many different preferences/settings/etc. I play around with (as an aside, how the hell do I revert these settings back to default?  I can't remember what they all were beforehand!), I can't get the pdfs to look like anything other than the same jpg image but now saved as a pdf.

I've also been recommended ABBYY FineReader, and I've tried that as well and it seems to do a much better job, unless I'm missing something.

I'd share the documents, but I can't figure out how.

EDIT:  After uploading pdfs to acrobat.com, taking 30 mins to get workspaces to open up, but then not being able to transfer the documents from acrobat.com to workspaces, I finally uploaded them again from my desktop to workspaces - WHY IS THIS SO DIFFICULT?!?!

So my questions basically is this:  How do I get adobe to make files like this:

https://acrobat.com/?d=KJskXucbh2pBBPuZmsL6Hw

look like this:

https://acrobat.com/?d=RrXBupJrVFQBKNT*DdqK5g

This has been a very frustrating day.  Any help is appreciated.