Skip navigation
Dumble_dad
Currently Being Moderated

Recreating pencil hatching in Illustrator

Oct 21, 2012 12:38 AM

Tags: #illustrator #brushes #hatching

I’m trying to take a friend’s pencil-and-paper design and recreate it in Illustrator for use in a poster we are creating together. She’s very proficient (away from the computer) and it’s my job to get her ideas into the computer. But sadly I’m a novice at Illustrator (and Photoshop), though I’ve been using Fireworks intermittently for years.

I’m using CS5 (Illustrator 15.0.2, Photoshop 12.0.4) on Windows 8 Enterprise RTM, and a Wacom intuos 4.

Here’s a fragment of the scan of the artwork I am trying to recreate.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8331/8107874824_9853e1bb15_n.jpg

And here are a few of my attempts to recreate it using the brushes in Illustrator.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8328/8107865995_769d12c32b_o.jpg

As you can see the results look nothing like the original :-(

That leaves me with three questions, though the first is the one I most need help with.

Question 1

Can anyone explain the steps I’d need to take to recreate in Illustrator the pencil hatching from the original paper based artwork, or point me to a comprehensive tutorial covering the required techniques?

Question 2

Perhaps I should instead abandon trying to recreate the pencil stroke hatching with an Illustrator brush and use Live Trace? I’ve not done that partly because I want to understand how to do it as a brush, and partly as I would not then have as much flexibility in creating different foreground text and background hatching combinations. Should I swap to Live Trace?

Question 3

Should I give up on vectors and try recreating the artwork in Photoshop?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 21, 2012 12:46 AM   in reply to Dumble_dad