Skip navigation
awaise171
Currently Being Moderated

xml borders

Nov 1, 2012 10:00 PM

Hello everybody...i am new to xml and indesign...i am using indesign cs5.5....i want to make tables with borders....i am successful in making tables with borders in indesign but when i export them as xml (ofcourse after tagging them) the code of the table shows up but nothing more happens....neither the data written in the cells do follow rules of tables nor the border shows up.....actually i am building a website...kindly help me out please...thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 10, 2012 8:23 AM   in reply to awaise171

EDIT: I *just* saw your last line where you state you are building a website. So instead of the answer below, I think you should save your Indesign document as an html project from Indesign to get your HTML tables, created from the indesign tables you've built... not export as XML. What you won't get is the styles, but the structure will at least be HTML tables and not XML tables. When you start a new document you can select "Web" as your intent in the New Document window. Copy your table (and any other elements) in from your previous print-intent document, also import your styles from your previous document. Then export FOR Dreamweaver from the file menu. This will create the appropriate td styles for you to populate in Dreamweaver (or plain text editor) covering all present table structure styles you had created. Unfortunately still empty, but you'll know what you need to style by looking at the list.