Skip navigation
Sender Films
Currently Being Moderated

Audio Drifts out of sync.  Why?

Nov 8, 2012 8:26 AM

Tags: #error #audio #blu-ray #encore #encode #sync #cs6 #bluray

Hello,

I am completely new to Adobe Encore.  I'm using it to author the first-ever Blu-Ray release by our company.

The problem I am encountering is this:

The audio and video files that I have are separate.  They were both encoded to the proper specs and came from the same project file, where they were in sync.  The same company that encoded the video for Blu-Ray did it for DVD using the same in and out points, and when I was making the DVD in DVD Studio Pro, the sync worked perfectly.

Specs:  Video is .m4v at 23.98 progressive 1920x1080 16:9
            Audio is .ac3 (I tried using the LCM .aif that I used to make the ac3, but it didn't work either).

I am currently burning a disk image of the Blu-Ray to see if it is just the preview function that is to blame.  However, if the issue doesn't go away, what should I do?  I am 100% certain that the audio and video were handled correctly, so the problem is almost certainly in Encore somewhere!

Thanks for help!

Cheers,

Benjamin

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 8, 2012 8:36 AM   in reply to Sender Films

I do not do BD, so can't help directly... so may only GUESS that something about the audio or video is not 100% compliant

Encore Import Formats http://forums.adobe.com/thread/622722

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 8, 2012 8:44 AM   in reply to John T Smith

John may be pointing primarily to the chart in the first reply to that thread, and someone mentioning "23.98" rather than "23.976" is always worrisome. It is true that many programs round the number, and what is reported as "23.98" is in fact "23.976." but we also see users who think they have a compliant stream and it is not.

Note that the thread John points to is a good one since the latter parts of the thread illustrate the complexity of compliant audio.

|
    Mark as: