Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

How do i turn a single bmp image in to seperate objects so i can make seperate symbols?

Nov 12, 2012 1:28 PM

Tags: #flash_professional #animation #symbols #flash_cs6

ss3ss.GIF

Hi, I am new to adobe flash pro cs6. I have been sent this image and i have been asked if i can make the tails of the mice move and their heads etc. My problem is that i dont know how to seperate or select individual parts of  the image so that i can use the bone tool on them. From what i read i need to seperate each part in to a symbol and then add to a sperate layer so i can animate them. Is there a way of using flash pro to select and seperate each part so i can make symbols? Thank you for your time and help in advance.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 12, 2012 1:43 PM   in reply to hagridj

If the image is a flattened drawing, meaning not a layered drawing where each part is on a separate layer, then you are not likely to be able to isolate each element as you wish.  You could try breaking the image down to a vector image, but that is still not going to give you what you want.  You will need to recreate each character in Flash to get what you are after.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 12, 2012 3:38 PM   in reply to hagridj

You don't say what sort of image it is. If this is a layered Photoshop or Illustrator file with each item, the various mice, the couch, etc., in unique layers in the file, then you can import each layer separately into Flash. If this is a flat, one layer, jpeg, gif, png, or some other bitmap format, then you could open the file in Photoshop, if you have it, and cut out each element, to make separate layers or separate images. If the original file is a flat Illustrator or pdf or eps file, then you could open the file in Illustrator, if you have it, and cut out each element as above.