Skip navigation
Julian O
Currently Being Moderated

Multicamera function choppy

Nov 16, 2012 1:01 PM

Tags: #multicamera #muticam #multi-camera_source_sequence

I am on a IMac 3.06 Core 2 Duo with 16gbs of Ram and 1TB of hard drive (600gigs available). Just got Pro CS6 and am trying to edit footage from 2 Canon T3is .mov files. The Multicamera playback is extremely choppy and impossible to use. I am a beginner. Is there something I should be doing?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 16, 2012 1:46 PM   in reply to Julian O

Get a much faster computer. A Core2Duo and a single disk is not going to cut it.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 16, 2012 2:02 PM   in reply to Julian O

Adobe's MINimums http://www.adobe.com/products/premiere/tech-specs.html

This message has a really good graphic about requirements

- http://forums.adobe.com/thread/810750

More about Requirements http://forums.adobe.com/thread/618058

Disk Configurations http://forums.adobe.com/thread/878419

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 16, 2012 2:50 PM   in reply to Julian O

Firewire 800 may reach a sustained transfer rate of around 50-60 MB/s in the best case. Two streams of AVCHD/T3is material is enough to choke it to death. Then add the really poor CPU, which is way overpowered with the complexity of the codec, and you end up with two serious threats. Typically such a system is 50 times slower than a fast system, maybe even 75 times. That explains the choppiness you experience.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 17, 2012 10:51 AM   in reply to Harm Millaard

Firewire 800 may reach a sustained transfer rate of around 50-60 MB/s in the best case. Two streams of AVCHD/T3is material is enough to choke it to death.

Hardly.  AVCHD runs at a nominal 24 Mb/s, which translates to 4 or 5 MB/s with overhead.  It's roughly the same rate rate as DV.  (Not sure why you still don't grasp that.)

Even if the T3i doubles that to 50 Mb/s, you're still only at about 20 MB/s read for two streams.

|
    Mark as: