Skip navigation
nmartin867
Currently Being Moderated

Is Illustrator the right tool to learn for me?

Nov 17, 2012 8:54 AM

Tags: #sprites #spritesheets

Hello. I am looking to get familiar with a design tool used for creating digital media. Specifically I will be creating assets for web pages as well as sprites for mobile gaming. I am a software engineer so I have some limited experience using PS, Flash, etc. There seems to be a lot of overlap in terms of functionality between PS, FW, and IL. Since I will be investing time to learn Illustrator (which will be considerable) I wonder if it's the best tool for my needs.

If I would like to create icons, banners, sprites (.png) should I learn Illustrator? Or should I be using something like FW?

Thanks!

-Nick

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 17, 2012 4:04 PM   in reply to nmartin867

No one can really answer based on what you've posted. Illustrator can indeed create icons, banners, and sprites. But then, so can Photoshop, Fireworks, PaintShopPro, Xara.....

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 17, 2012 4:11 PM   in reply to nmartin867

My advice would be to learn as much as you can on as many programmes as you can.

It’s better to be good at everything rather than specializing yourself into a corner.

Like Scott says, you can do a lot of thing using a lot of software.

Illie and Photoshop overlap to a certain extent and also function well as a pair but they are far from being your only options.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 17, 2012 4:57 PM   in reply to nmartin867

If you are smart and asked your question sort of backwards you would hgave a better answer. But I suspect you knoiw this already.

You should know Fireworks first and become very familiar with it you should learn Illustrator in a similar way that Flash users learn it as a way of creating high end graphics to be brought into Flash .