Skip navigation
mishi930
Currently Being Moderated

Background Master Not Showing In PDF

Nov 20, 2012 12:14 PM

Tags: #pdf #transparency #exporting #opacity

I have a 90 page ebook I've design in InDesign. I'm self taught and new(ish) to InDesign, so please bear with me.

My client needs the book for print and as an Interactive PDF. So, I've designed the file for print and am converting it to RGB when exporting it for web.

Regardless of if I export the file for print or web, RGB or CMYK almost all of the pages are missing the background. The strange this is I'm using Masters for the background and some pages show up properly while most don't even though the same Master is applied.The Master has a transparency (opacity) on it, but I've also tried removing this and exporting the file without it and still have the same problem.

Any help with this is MUCH appreciated.

Here you will see how Page 1 is exporting properly with a background texture and opacity overlay:

Screen Shot 2012-11-20 at 12.10.53 PM.png

Here you will see how Page 2 is exporting with no background image even though the very same Master is applied to it.

Screen Shot 2012-11-20 at 12.12.20 PM.png

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 20, 2012 6:54 PM   in reply to mishi930

Master page items can be overridden on individual pages if that item itself is set to allow such overriding (context menu when selecting the item on the master page; in that context menu, you find Allow Master Item Overrides checked or unchecked). If it is allowed, try unchecking it; if the problem persists, make a copy of your file and apply master to pages after disallowing such overriding (flyout menu in the pages panel). It will be applied to selected pages only. Doing so may restitute items that you changed on purpose, but it might help understand the problem (if it has to do with such overriding at all). Anyhow, that's my first guess.

I don't even know if possible, but if, maybe you want to post the file itself?