Skip navigation
mpunaskar
Currently Being Moderated

InDesign to Excel - Export & Import Utility

Nov 21, 2012 7:48 AM

Tags: #export #excel|indesign #excel_conversion

Hello,

My wife is a freelance designer  & im a software developer. We worked together on one of her freelance assignments which involved transcreation of indesign document in variuous languages.

I wrote software which would export all the text content from indesign idml file to excel sheet. Any one can edit these excel sheets & software will be able to merge it back and create new idml file from it. Basically its easier to export and import text back in to idml files.

Heres use case : Take idml file , export all text content to excel sheet with just click of a button and send it to translators/proofreaders/editors. When they are done with it - simply merge it back in to original idml file within seconds (without graphic designer spending time on copy-n-pasting in to indesign file)

I think this can reduce indesign text copy-n-paste job time by 90%

I would like to know is there any market for such utility & would it make any sense to develop it any furthur.

Thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 21, 2012 12:54 PM   in reply to mpunaskar

The export out of InDesign is interesting but would only really be useful if the multiple variances of text was an after-thought. If you knew in advance you were going to do this, you would set the file and work flow up diffently. As for the import, InDesign's built-in Data Merge does this.

Someone with more knowledge on this might add to this but I believe InCopy is a close equivalent to what you have been doing. http://www.adobe.com/products/incopy/features.html

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 21, 2012 1:33 PM   in reply to mpunaskar